Daniel Bryan to host the WWE Cruiserweight Classic on the WWE Network

WWE Superstar Daniel Bryan is set to host the WWE Cruiserweight Classic on the WWE Network, the Tournament is set to feature some of the best Cruiserweights from around the world and no doubt, Daniel Bryan who was forced to retire due to a number of Concussions has in fact, been around the block and knows what this Tournament, which signifies pure wrestling, is all about. The Press release as revealed by the WWE follows below.


WWE® Cruiserweight Classic™ to Premiere on WWE Network Wednesday, July 13

STAFORD, Conn.–(BUSINESS WIRE)– WWE(NYSE:WWE) announced today that the WWE Cruiserweight Classic will premiere Wednesday, July 13 at 9 PM ET exclusively on WWE Network. The 10-week tournament will air every Wednesday night and culminate with a live two-hour special on Wednesday, September 14.

The WWE Cruiserweight Classic will be hosted by WWE Legend Daniel Bryan® and the voice of WWE SmackDown® Mauro Ranallo.

“We scoured the globe to find 32 of the best Cruiserweights to compete in this inaugural tournament,” said WWE Executive Vice President of Talent, Live Events& Creative Paul “Triple H®” Levesque. “These performers will be given an unprecedented opportunity to showcase their elite athleticism and unbridled passion across WWE’s global platforms.”

The WWE Cruiserweight Classic is a 32-man, single-elimination tournament that will feature the best cruiserweights from all over the world including Rich Swann, Johnny Gargano, Cedric Alexander and Tommaso Ciampa from the United States, Kota Ibushi and Akira Tozawa from Japan, Zack Sabre, Jr from England, Noam Dar from Scotland, Ho Ho Lun and Jason Lee from Hong Kong, Gran Metalik from Mexico, Tyson Dux from Canada, Da Mack from Germany, Damian Slater from Australia and many more.


Here is the complete list of Participants in the Tournament.

Rich Swann
Johnny Gargano
Tommaso Ciampa
Zack Sabre Jr.
Noam Dar
Jake Gallagher
TJ Perkins
Lince Dorado
Drew Gulak
Ho Ho Lun
Akira Tozawa
Tony Nese
Raul Mendoza
Gran Metalik
Anthony Bennett
Kota Ibushi
Cedric Alexander
Clement Petiot
Kenneth Johnson
Fabian Aichner
Sean Maluta
Harv Sihra
Gurv Sihra
Tyson Dux
Da Mack
Brian Kendrick
Alejandro Saez
Damien Slater
Jason Lee
Ariya Daivari

WWE Network will also air an exclusive Cruiserweight Classic special entitled CWC: Bracketology on Wednesday, July 6 at 9 PM ET.